smile and shrug

…what else can I do?

Missed

I miss my oldest daughter.

She grew up, the way that kids do, and moved out, the way that kids do.  It was all very normal and expected and I was actually very proud of her and happy for her independence and maturity.  I didn’t necessarily approve of all the choices she made, but they were HER choices to make, not mine, and I loved watching her make them and then deal with the results.  Much the way you can find pleasure and joy and excitement watching a baby learn to crawl – those first few face-plants and rug-burns and all.  My daughter is a delight to me.  Yes, I worry and fret and agonize; sometimes I lecture and nag and nitpik; and I even apologize when I’ve gone on too long, the way that mom’s do sometimes.  But overall, she is such a joy and delight and source of pride as well as inspiration, and I miss her.

After living on her own in town for a year, she moved 3000 miles away to live with her boyfriend and be closer to his family.  It’s been almost 3 years now and I really think it’s time they came back for awhile.  I miss her.  I miss shopping, chatting, being bored with her even.  I just plain miss her presence in my life.

We were talking last night and I started whining about it – “I miss you! Why can’t you guys live here for awhile? Why can’t you get jobs here? Just for a year or so, it’s MY turn to have you near…” and snivel whine snivel for another few minutes until I was getting annoyed with myself – as she must have been too.  Queen of Guilt Trip Inc., that’s me!

But at the end of it all, it’s still the same.  I miss her.  Her siblings miss her.  I don’t want her to miss this new baby coming, and I don’t want this new baby to miss out on having such an awesome big sister around.  And I’m tired of missing my girl, my firstborn, my best friend.

Chickadee, come home.

 

Single Post Navigation

Talk to me...

